The Big Day. And an anti-climax.

It’s the 12th of July which means today is the big day. San Jose sees the Livestrong Challenge participants roll out for their various distances in a matter of hours and the 100 Off Road Miles of Nowhere finally takes place. Or at least it should.

The weather here has been great for the last two weeks and the trails have been in perfect condition – nice and fast with no damp sections under the trees to catch me out. But, for the last 28 hours it’s been raining. Heavily.

(There was going to be an embedded video here but seeing as I detest Youtube & Google video and for some strange reason WP.com only supports them or Daily motion, I can’t embed the Vimeo video. So click here to see the rain).

I went and took a test loop earlier to see how they would ride and got less than 1/3rd the way around before my tyre was jammed with mud. Which isn’t so good.

So I’ve made an executive decision: The 100OMON will be postponed until the weather improves again and the trails have had a chance to dry out. Today I shall instead be kicking my butt on the trainer watching the Tour de France as they haul themselves up the Tourmalet.

I’d like to apologise to everyone who’s been sending messages of support and following this as well as my generous donors both online and offline. I promise to you as soon as the trails are suitable again I will be doing the 100OMON! You don’t ride nearly 1,500 miles and 190,000ft of climbing while training for nothing!

Good luck to everyone taking part in the San Jose Livestrong Challenge, I wish I could be there with you all today! Have a fantastic time.

WIN SUSAN!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under San Jose

Leave a Reply

