The Final Push

This week I stepped up to riding 100 miles with the goal of doing that distance 3 times before I do it ‘for real’ on Sunday the 12th.

I’m not going to fib: It hurt! But I’m ready for this and know I’ll have no problems. The bike is ready, (I’ve got a new chain, cassette and brake pads ready to fit Saturday), and I’m ready.

So for anyone interested in my training for the 100 Off Road Miles of Nowhere  here’s a brief recap:

Distance ridden: 1,450 miles

Total feet gained:  186,408

Number of chains: 5

Number of cassettes: 3

Number of tyres: 4

Number of tubes: 0 (tubeless tyres rock).

Lbs lost:  18

Predicted time to complete 100OMON: 7:30:00 (or thereabouts).

This is the furthest I’ve ever ridden in just 8 weeks and I’m quite shocked I’ve done it without injuring myself. But I’m feeling strong and ready!

I’ve managed to rope in some support to help out with drinks and food while I’m riding and they’ll also get pictures and video. I’m going to try and record my ride with a SPOT Messenger but I make no promises as to it’s reliability under tree cover (which is what I’ll be under for most of the loop). I will however break open a fresh cycling computer just for the 100OMON and will post milestone mileages.

Will I be able to Tweet while I’m doing it? I don’t know, but I’ll try! I’m sure there’s a way to do it without taking myself headlong into a tree.

There’s still time to win the Flip Ultra HD camcorder I’ve generously been donated! Just make your donation of $5 or more ($10 gets you 3 entries, $20 gets you 6, $30 gets you 9, $40 gets you 12 ad $50 gets you a whopping 15 entries!) to my Livestrong Challenge page and keep your fingers crossed! I’ll email the lucky winner on Saturday.

That’s all (for now!) folks!

Leave a comment

Filed under San Jose

Leave a Reply

